Which religions are vegetarians




















Medieval rabbis such as Joseph Albo and Isaac Arama regarded vegetarianism as a moral ideal, and a number of modern Jewish groups and Jewish religious and cultural authorities have promoted vegetarianism. One source of advocacy for Jewish vegetarianism in Israel is Amirim, a vegetarian moshav village.

Jewish vegetarians often cite Jewish principles regarding animal welfare, environmental ethics, moral character, and health as reasons for adopting a vegetarian or vegan diet. Many Jewish vegetarians are particularly concerned about cruel practices in factory farms and high-speed, mechanized slaughterhouses.

Jonathan Safran Foer has raised these concerns in the short documentary film If This Is Kosher… , responding to what he considers abuses within the kosher meat industry.

Some Jewish vegetarians have pointed out that Adam and Eve were not allowed to eat meat. According to some opinions, the whole world will again be vegetarian in the Messianic era, and not eating meat brings the world closer to that ideal.

As the ideal images of the Torah are vegetarian, one may see the laws of kashrut as actually designed to wean Jews away from meat eating and to move them toward the vegetarian ideal. Several Christian monastic groups, including the Desert Fathers, Trappists, Benedictines, Cistercians and Carthusians, all of the Orthodox monks and also Christian esoteric groups, such as the Rosicrucian Fellowship, have encouraged vegetarianism.

The Bible Christian Church, a Christian vegetarian sect founded by Reverend William Cowherd in , were one of the philosophical forerunners of the Vegetarian Society. Cowherd encouraged members to abstain from eating of meat as a form of temperance. Some Christian groups, such as Seventh-day Adventists, the Christian Vegetarian Association and Christian anarchists, take a literal interpretation of the Biblical prophecies of universal veg etari anism [Genesis , Isaiah , Isaiah ] and encourage veg etari anism as preferred lifestyles or as a tool to reject the commodity status of animals and the use of animal products for any purpose, although some of them say it is not required.

Other groups point instead to allegedly explicit prophecies of temple sacrifices in the Messianic Kingdom, e. Some Christian vegetarians, such as Keith Akers, argue that Jesus himself was a vegetarian. Akers argues that Jesus was influenced by the Essenes, an ascetic Jewish sect. The present academic consensus is that Jesus was not an Essene.

Other, more recent Christians movements, such as Sarx and CreatureKind, do not maintain that Jesus himself was a vegetarian, but instead argue that many practices which occur in the contemporary industrialized farming system, such as the mass culling of day-old male-chicks in the egg industry, are incompatible with the life of peace and love to which Jesus called his followers. Within Eastern Christianity, Vegetarianism is practiced as part of fasting during the Great Lent although shellfish and other non-vertebrate products are generally considered acceptable during some periods of this time ; vegan fasting is particularly common in Eastern Orthodoxy and Oriental Orthodox Churches, such as the Coptic Orthodox Church of Alexandria, which generally fasts days out of the year.

Islam explicitly prohibits eating of some kinds of meat, especially pork. However, one of the most important Islamic celebrations, Eid ul-Adha , involves animal sacrifices. Muslims who can afford to do so sacrifice a domestic animals usually sheep, but also camels, cows, and goats. According to the Quran, a large portion of the meat has to be given towards the poor and hungry, and every effort is to be made to see that no impoverished Muslim is left without sacrificial food during days of feast like Eid-ul-Adha.

Certain Islamic orders are mainly vegetarian; many Sufis maintain a vegetarian diet. Some Muslims think that being a vegetarian for reasons other than health is un-Islamic and it goes against the fitra. Some Rastafarians consider it to also forbid the eating of meat but the majority will not eat pork at the very least, considering it unclean.

Manichaeism was a religion established by the Iranian named Mani during Sassanian empire. The religion prohibited slaughtering or eating animals. Mazdakism, a sect of Zoroastrianism, explicitly promoted vegetarianism.

The sect was founded by Mazdak. One of the main precepts in Zoroastrianism is respect and kindness towards all living things and condemnation of cruelty against animals. The Shahnameh states that the evil king of Iran, Zohak was first taught eating meat by the evil one who came to him in the guise of a cook. This was the start of an age of great evil for Iran. Prior to this, in the Golden age of mankind in the days of the great Aryan Kings, man did not eat meat.

The Pahlavi scriptures state that in the final stages of the world, when the final Saviour Saoshyant arrives, man will become more spiritual and gradually give up meat eating. Vegetarianism is stated to be the future state of the world in Pahlavi scriptures — Atrupat-e Emetan in Iran in Denkard Book VI requested all Zoroastrians to be vegetarians:.

Meaning: They hold this also: Be plant eaters urwar xwarishn i. Keep away from the body of cattle tan i gospand , and deeply reckon that Ohrmazd, the Lord has created plants in great number for helping cattle and men.

It is similar to Chinese Buddhist vegetarianism. Varying levels of abstinence among Taoists and Taoist-influenced people include veganism, veganism without root vegetables, lacto-ovo vegetarianism, and pescetarianism. Taoist vegetarians also tend to abstain from alcohol and pungent vegetables such as garlic and onions during lenten days.

Non-vegetarian Taoists sometimes abstain from beef and water buffalo meat for many cultural reasons. Vegetarianism in the Taoist tradition is similar to that of Lent in the Christian tradition. While highly religious people such as monks may be vegetarian, vegan or pescetarian on a permanent basis, lay practitioners often eat vegetarian on the 1st new moon , 8th, 14th, 18th, 23rd, 24th, 28th, 29th and 30th days of the lunar calendar.

In accordance with their Buddhist peers, and because many people are both Taoist and Buddhist, they often also eat lenten on the 15th day full moon. Taoist vegetarianism is similar to Chinese Buddhist vegetarianism, however, its roots reach to pre-Buddhist times. Here are just a few religions that have made statements in support of what we now call a vegetarian diet. I share this list not to imply that eating meat should be against your religion; everyone has the right to make their own food choices.

But it is interesting to consider how plant-based eating has long appealed across time periods and ideologies. Vegetarianism has a strong tradition in Judaism, as the original design for the Garden of Eden. The Book of Daniel is also viewed as showing religious support for vegetarianism. Of the many branches of Christianity, the strongest support for vegetarianism comes from the Seventh-day Adventist Church.

Founder Ellen White was vegetarian, and lacto-ovo-vegetarianism is promoted in this denomination. Research on followers of this religion has been helpful in demonstrating better health and lifespan in those adhering to plant-based diets. Islam stresses kindness, mercy and compassion for animals. Certain animals are not permitted, depending on how they are killed, and pork is also forbidden in Islam.

There is a strong tradition of vegetarianism in the Hindu religions, stemming from the reverence for the sacred cow. Vegetarianism is viewed as a daily sadhana , or spiritual practice, by many Hindus. There is also a strong tradition of vegetarianism in Buddhism.

In some Sutras, Buddha stressed that followers should not eat meat or fish. Many Buddhist monks are strict vegetarians. Originating about the same time as the Hindu and Buddhist religions, Jainism stresses the practice of ahimsa, or non violence.

Jains believe in abstaining from meat and honey and avoiding harming harming any living creatures—including insects. Plant-based eating is no fad.

Whether for cultural or religious reasons, being vegan or vegetarian is simply a part of life for many, especially those living in the global south. Here are four food cultures where people eat plant-based, rather than meat and other animal products — and an idea of new vegan recipes to try out. Callaloo, a popular Caribbean green leafy vegetable, typically cooked with onion, garlic, tomatoes, thyme and scotch bonnet pepper. Rohit Seth. Ital is the food celebrated by those in the Rastafari movement developed in Jamaica during the s, based on natural living.

Rastas are earth-preservers and believe the food they eat should come from the land. This, in principle, is Ital. Ital food should be natural, organic, unprocessed and free of additives, chemicals and meat.

Combined with a climate well-suited to growing a variety of fruit and vegetables, this means there are plenty of plant-based options available in Jamaica and the rest of the Caribbean. The choice to eat Ital is as much of a spiritual decision for Rastas as it is a health conscious one. Their philosophy is to remain as close to nature as possible and respect all forms of animal and plant life. Typical veggie platter you can find in any Eritrean or Ethiopian restaurant made from several different legume-based stews and vegetable dishes served on top of injera sourdough flatbread.

The cuisine of Eritrea and Ethiopia is full of naturally plant-based dishes.



0コメント

  • 1000 / 1000